No One Scraps Mr. Roarke!

High on invention from a week at science camp, my daughter asked me last minute to take her by one of her favorite places before she got dropped with mom.

Behold the wonders of The Scrap Box. Basically, anyone donates their useable castoff treasures and the good volunteers here spend hours organizing it and making it into acceptable, shoppable displays for schools, kids parties and all your general public scrappers.The warehouse room is a dream come true for a Junk-ahol like her because she gets to cram a bag full of stuff for a flat price. “Oh! It fits in the bag!!” Tons of gems and marbles, fabrics, buttons, containers, foams, clips, threads and tubes. And a million others. Throw it in the basket!

Anyhow, I always set her loose to collect craft supplies while I go through the old National Geographics. Today the gal brought me out four leather boxed sets of them! Can’t wait. And quite a score for five bucks, I might add. I may be more excited than would be acceptable in this instance. But come on! Look at those topics ๐Ÿ˜ฒ I’m personally anxious for the Nautilus and to see what they said about solar power in 1976…plus, it’s a great break from the “news” of modern day.ย Anyway…hidden between a few of the issues was this sparkling nugget of nostalgia from 1979…enjoy ๐Ÿ˜Š

17 thoughts on “No One Scraps Mr. Roarke!

Add yours

  1. This was such a joy to read. All of those “THINGS!” I use to have a pile of National Geographics from a garage sale…..and lost them all. I bought about 12, for $2. They are so priceless to me.๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

    1. Oh nice! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š They’re kind of amazing to look at right? Journalism basically doesn’t exist anymore so I like reading these and seeing how photography and the world has changed…and the old ads, lol. 70’s, I couldn’t believe it. Very cool.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They are one of the avenues that catapulted me into foreign missions. I read about world poverty, and saw the very detailed photos that went along with what I read…never got over it. Journalism is not so authentic anymore…unless it is in a publication such as National Geographic (in my opinion)

        Liked by 1 person

        1. See how important!?That’s why we can’t lose our books and librariessss! I’m a huge magazine fan and I hate the changes in the last decade. This was back when these people had to work hard for their photos and stories. And… actually leave their keyboards and homes to do it.

          Like

    1. ๐Ÿ˜ฒ This is actually a little religious circular that was popular in the 80’s. I guess someone was hiding a copy of Ricardo from their husband all these years mixed into their nat geo’s! Oops

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to explain Fantasy Island to my adult daughtersโ€ฆ I got the โ€œokay crazy ladyโ€ stare.
    That looks like a store I could spend hours in! Dollar stores, thrift storesโ€ฆso much fun and you never know what treasures youโ€™ll find!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah, well, so now we know pitching something so outlandish (amazing) in this day and age wouldn’t fly!

      It’s really very cool. There’s always something to look at. Today there was a huge bin of brand new tennis balls for a quarter a piece, lol. Will come in handy when I force tennis lessons on her here soon.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Right! This time they had a crapload of old trophies and I thought….there has GOT to be something I could do with those….sparkly garden decorations or something given a can of glitter spraypaint or two, lololl. But thats probably when the neighbors report me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

